Re-using Talis Elevate Resources in the Next Academic Year
It is likely that from time to time, you will want to re-use your Talis Elevate resources in a future academic year. In this way, you will need to remove the comments from students in the previous academic year. Because Talis Elevate associates with your module code, you will find that at first the comments from last year’s students still remain.
The steps below will outline how you can move your Talis Elevate resources over to the new academic year by archiving comments from the previous students.
Resetting Your Module
Talis Elevate allows you to reset modules. This means you can easily re-use content on new courses. In particular, this is valuable if you have copied all VLE content where Talis Elevate has been added to a new module.
What does ‘reset module’ do?
If you rollover your VLE sites/learning spaces with Talis Elevate resources, and reset your module via the Module Manager:
- Access to resources will continue to work. Any resources that are restricted in group spaces will also continue to be accessible
- All historic annotations and analytics will be removed . This includes in the Module Manager
- Analytics emails will only include the ‘latest’ cohorts information
- Students from the previous cohort will not get notifications based on the current student cohorts activity
- Students personal notes will be maintained
How to reset a module
- Navigate to the module manager. If you typically upload Talis Elevate resources via the VLE, you can access the module manager from any resource, by clicking on the analytics icon, then clicking the ‘module analytics’ button
- Select the module you wish to reset using the options on the left of the module manager screen
- Click on the ellipsis to the right of ‘add resource’ and select ‘reset module’
- You’ll be greeted with a screen asking you to update your module details. This will require you to adjust the dates to the new start/end dates.
- Tick the box confirming that you understand the implications of doing this
- Click reset
- You will return to the main Module Manger page, and will see a confirmation that this module has been reset. The resources will continue to show, but no time engagement, annotation data, or analytics charting will display
You will not be able to reset a module again immediately after you’ve reset. This is to limit the opportunity for resetting whilst a module is running. This option will subsequently be greyed out.
Additional information on resetting modules
Those students accessing content on the historic VLE site will be able to see ‘new’ annotations. We have found that access to legacy content (through conversations with institutions) is typically very low, for this interim period, our discussions with institutions highlighted this to be a viable option.
It should be noted that analytics and annotations are not being deleted, just removed from view. Talis will still maintain the ability to access, download, and share this information with you. This includes
- Student engagement (time on module/resources/day by day)
- Annotations made by students
- Resource downloads, student by student, by time
Please contact email@example.com if you require this information