Centre Management and Administration Help & Support

Archiving and Suspending Learners

The following resources will support Centre Managers and Administrators to understand the process for managing learner user accounts in One File when an apprenticeship cohort reaches its completion date, or an individual no longer requires access because, for example, they have completed or withdrawn.

The difference between Archiving and Suspending Learners

When a learner completes their portfolio, enters a break in learning or withdraws from their apprenticeship, you will need to archive and/or suspend access depending on the agreed process with your school.

Archiving a Learner’s Portfolio

  • When a learner’s portfolio is archived, they continue to have access to their account, and will not be prevented from logging in.
  • Their portfolio becomes read-only, this means that they cannot make changes to assessments, or add any new evidence and content.
  • The learner’s account is hidden from all ‘active lists’, for instance on Dashboards and Reports. Though, this can be accessed by changing any filters to include ‘Archived’ users.
  • The portfolio will no longer use a licence. Each centre or area will have an agreed number of ‘seats’ or ‘licences’ that they can have active within One File, by archiving a portfolio, you are freeing up one of those ‘seats/licences’.

Suspending a Learner’s Account

  • When a learner’s account is suspended, they cannot access to their account, and will be prevented from logging in.
  • If their portfolio is archived, the portfolio will be in a read-only state and only users who have access, such as the Tutor or the Employer, will be able to engage with its content.
  • If their portfolio is not archived, all users who continue to have access can add evidence and information to the portfolio, and it will show in active Reports and Dashboards.
  • Suspending alone does not reduce the amount of active ‘seats/licences’ used by the centre, this is only achieved through archiving a learner’s portfolio.

Please note: both the act of archiving a learner’s portfolio and suspending a user’s access can be undone or reverted at any time by a User Manager or Centre Manager.

Archiving an Entire Cohort

To archive an entire cohort of learners, follow the steps below:

  1. Access your One File Centre as a Centre Manager or User Manager.
  2. In the Quality tab, click on the Cohorts button (this may be labelled Groups in some areas).
A screenshot of the Quality tab in One File. Six buttons are displayed, the sixth image is labelled Cohorts.
  1. Click on the Title of the Cohort you want to archive.
A screenshot of the Cohorts area in One File. Four cohorts are listed in a table, the table displays three buttons for each cohort: edit, learners and progress.
  1. Click the Archive button located at the bottom of the screen.
A screenshot of the Edit Cohort menu in One File. The image shows a list of assessment methods associated with the cohort. The bottom of the image shows four buttons: Save, Archive, Delete and Cancel.

Archiving an Individual Learner

To archive a learner’s portfolio, follow the steps below: 

  1. Access your One File Centre as a Centre Manager or User Manager.
  2. Access the Learner’s portfolio through the Learner Episodes tab.
A screenshot of the Users tab in One File. Five icons are shown, they are: observers, learners, learner episodes, allocations and unit allocations.
  1. Click on Learning Aims tab.
A screenshot of the Learner Episodes tab. Five buttons are shown for each learner in the table, they are: episode, learning aims, tutors, IV/EV and portfolio.
  1. Scroll down to the Archive heading.
  2. Tick the checkbox next to the Archive this episode option.
A screenshot of an Archive box. A checkbox is displayed labelled "archive this episode". An archived date value is shown.
  1. Click Save.

Suspending a Learner’s Account

To suspend learner access, please follow the below steps: 

  1. Access your One File Centre as a Centre Manager or User Manager.
  2. Access the Learner’s portfolio through the Users tab.
A screenshot of the Users tab in One File. Five icons are shown, they are: observers, learners, learner episodes, allocations and unit allocations.
  1. Click on Learner’s Account tab located at the top of the page.
A screenshot of the Learner Episodes tab. Five buttons are shown for each learner in the table, they are: episode, learning aims, tutors, IV/EV and portfolio.
  1. In the Login details section, click the Suspend user access checkbox.
  2. Enter a reason for suspension – this ensures that anyone with access to this learner knows why they have been suspended.
  1. Click Save.